top of page

Graduated. Married. 2 Internships in NYC!

Yay we have a blog! So exciting! We can't wait to update this on all our adventures in the big city of New York!

I'll share this first big story of great news: How we both landed internships in NYC! So you probably already know, but in November Spencer came out to NYC with the school for a trip to find internships. He found a connection to this awesome girl, Adrienne, who works for Y&R. Spencer is going into Business Marketing & Advertising and Y&R is the 2nd largest Advertising agency in the world! So he convinced Adrienne to meet with him for 10 minutes, and their 10 min chat ended up as an interview. She said she was a good judge of character and could see how amazing Spencer was. She offered him the intership! YAY! It was so happy and I'm so proud of Spencer! He is amazing! :)

So fast forward to now. We were excited to come to NYC but I was nervous wondering if I'd ever find an internship or if I would just be home all day everyday. I hoped it would be easy once I was actually living in the city. On our first day in town Spence wanted to take the subway to Y&R to figure the subway system out, and take me to meet Adrienne and tour around. It was fun to see the place so I could picture exactly what he'd be doing all day:) I love Adrienne; she is awesome and so fun! She kept introducing us to everyone he'd be working with. Then she introduced us to Dot. Dot is the head of the internship programs as well as a valuable member to the Y&R staff. She later asked me what I'd be doing this summer, and I told her I was looking for an internship since I graduated in Applied Math. Without hesitation she said, "Well I'm looking for an accounting intern, want to do that?!" ha I told her that wasn't my background but she said I must be good with numbers and told Adrienne to get us connected and get my resume. ha I was pretty excited and flattered! Later, Adrienne asked what I was interesting in and when I told her she said that sounded more like their BAV dept, but she wasn't sure if they were hiring. But if the only promising offer was one in accounting I figured I'd take that over doing nothing. And Adrienne said it was lucky I got to meet Dot in person because apparently she rarely responds back to people via email. So I emailed Adrienne my resume that night.

The next morning I saw Dot had emailed me! I opened it up and this is what I saw:

"Hi Alli

So good to meet you yesterday.

I'd like to offer you a summer internship in our BAV group. I've attached a formal offer letter.

Please let me know if you'd be joining us.

Best,

Dot"

Oh my gosh I flipped out!!! I can't believe it! And what I'd be doing in the BAV group is EXACTLY what I've been applying for - doing Data Analysis. What are the chances!?!?

So apparently that morning Adrienne asked the man in charge of BAV if he needed and intern and when he said yes she said she had one for him! So I'm just so blessed that Spencer didn't mind taking me to his work before his first day, and that Adrienne saw so much in Spencer that he trusted my character off of him! Just a HUGE blessing! I said the most exciting thank prayer ever! I am SOOO grateful!!

So I start on Wednesday and Spence and I will take the subway together everyday, and work on the same floor:) hahaha

Which take us to the title of our blog.....The Hairs can't split!

:)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page